Teaching English Pronunciation for a Global World update

When I posted at the beginning of January about the book that Gemma Archer and I have written on pronunciation, quite a lot of people asked when it was due out. Gemma and I had our advance copies but the book wasn’t yet on sale so I promised I’d let people know when they were going to be able to get a copy. And now I’m posting to say that Teaching English Pronunciation for a Global World (drum roll, long silence to maintain suspense, close-up shots of eager, anxious faces, and all that rubbish), goes on sale February 15th!

If you are sick enough to want a copy as soon as possible, try following this link:

In addition, if you’re really hooked on this approach to teaching pronunciation (and perhaps more importantly, if you’re not), then you might like to follow some of the events and activities that OUP have organised to get the book out to as wide an audience as possible. These include:

  • A livestream with Gemma and myself on Thursday, February 23rd, at 16:00h, GMT / 17:00h CET.
  • Two blogs, one from each of us, due out some time in March
  • ‘Behind the book’ videos to introduce the book and summarise its main points
  • An article or two on teaching pronunciation for intelligibility
  • A session in April at the IATEFL Annual Conference in Brighton, with Gemma and I presenting activities from the book
  • A webinar delivered by Gemma at ELTOC, OUP’s regular online conference.

As we get dates and links for these activities and events, I’ll post them here in case they are of interest. And of course, as most of you already know, you can always contact me via email at robin@englishglobalcom.com

2 thoughts on “Teaching English Pronunciation for a Global World update

Comments are closed.