OUP España ‘Meet the Authors’ Madrid – Pronunciation 14s

If you were at my session on Saturday March 29th at the OUP España ‘Meet the Authors day, you’ll remember that I promised you the Powerpoint. You can access that here. Enjoy your pronunciation teaching with your teenagers, and please feel free get in touch with me if you have any questions or doubts you think I might be able to help with. I’d love to  hear from you.

If you weren’t in the Madrid session, basically we looked at 4 Ms:

  • Motivation
  • Model(s)
  • Method
  • Marks

The session explores each of these points in turn, ending with an appeal to give teenage learners a mark for their pronunciation, as this is one of the simplest ways of putting it on a par with everything else that learning English involves.

The talk is the basis of an article I’m preparing at the moment on pronunciation and teenage learners, and that is scheduled to appear in English Teaching Professional later this year.

